Car crash reading

image

Untamed by S C Stephens out November 3rd

Delicious cover?  One of my recent favourites.  It has hidden depths and gets better the more you look at it, bit like the book itself. Never judge a book by it’s cover?  Umm, well when they look this good I’m happy to!

I wasn’t wild about it to start with. In fact if netgalley hadn’t given me a copy I probably wouldn’t have finished it.  Griffin was a bore, totally full of himself and with zero self awareness.  And Anna? She was a typical rock star wife – gorgeous but bland.

And then it twigged forget TV (a la Geordie Shore) this was car crash reading.  Slowly disaster loomed.  I knew I should look away, yet how could I? I kept on reading and it kept getting worse.  How dim can one man be?! Now I know – seriously dim! Yet, it was so obviously real. We’ve all made something worse by trying to fix it.  Poor Griffin is just the world champion.

So, having struggled for a couple of days to get into it, this morning at 2.11am, I finally finished it!  By the end I was gripped by Griffin and Anna’s story.  I couldn’t put it down. So thanks Ms Stephens for making me a zombie today!

The storyline is a refreshing change from the endless focus on childhood misery.  Griffin has only himself to blame and he is most definitely the master of his own destiny. He might start off a complete bore but he ends up a proper hero and totally gorgeous. I just might be in love!

As for Anna, she isn’t the girl she first seems. She has steel or perhaps balls of steel. Seeing the dynamic of their relationship was compelling and a brave move by the author.

As for the ending with Liam – I didn’t see that coming. Fab!

So, my only issue with this book was how badly I struggled with it at first. That might be because this is a series and having not read any of the earlier books I simply didn’t get it to start with.  Whilst it’s definitely stand alone, I think I would have loved it more easily had I read the rest of the series. No matter, I got there in the end.

Thank you to netgalley for an ARC in return for an honest review.

 

What’s for dinner Pia?

dragos

Dragos goes to Washington by Thea Harrison

You gotta love Dragos, who else taunts potential dinner guests with putting them on the menu?  And leaves them wondering if he would  (he wouldn’t? would he?!).  Not only that he survives a maelstrom in Washington and doesn’t kill a soul!  This time it’s Pia who has blood on her hands.

If that doesn’t make sense to you – then this latest novella in the Elder Races series isn’t for you.  The author has written this one for fans of Dragos and Pia.

There’s plenty of sex (maybe plenty is a bit mean – there’s loads!), intrigue, politics, and a bit of a drama.  Dragos is the rock star in this series and this is just a gentle reminder, in case you needed it!

There’s also a very cute line up for the next novella which has to be Pia’s trip to Hollywood.  Longer term there is another development that fans will also welcome.

All up just want fans want.  As a fan I really needed this as I felt that Midnight’s Kiss just didn’t do it for me.

thank you to netgalley for an ARC in return for an honest review